Skip to content ↓

Who's Who

"Technology is just a tool. In terms of getting the kids working together and motivating them, the teacher is the most important." Bill Gates

At The Bourne Academy, we welcome students of all abilities and from all backgrounds and staff take their time to get to know and understand each students, supporting them to do their very best.

The Academy creates an ethos that promotes academic, vocational and personal development. Students receive regular constructive feedback which identifies clear targets for improvement. Tracking and monitoring of progress has been designed to help students to improve and excel.

Staff are a dedicated and passionate team of people, whose primary objective is to ensure that every child in their care receives the best and exciting learning possible. We strive to ensure that our students achieve their absolute best and are happy throughout their academic years.

To contact a member of teaching staff, please leave a message with Reception on 01202 528554 or email them at the following:  first name.

In 2013, Ofsted stated that "the way in which staff care for the students is outstanding".


Mr Mark Avoth Principal
Mrs Carol Harrison Vice Principal
Mr Ashley St John Assistant Vice Principal
Mrs Caroline Gobell Business Director                                                        


Mrs Rachel Bennett Director of Impact of Teaching and Learning
Miss Naomi Leech Director of Assessment


Communication and Enquiry: 

Mrs Naomi Barr Subject Lead English - Specialism
Miss Victoria Gladden English and Reading Across the Curriculum Coordinator
Ms Kate Brand 2nd in English - Specialism
Mrs Donna Pollard English and KS5 English Coordinator
Miss Laura Beardsell Lead Practitioner in English
Ms Emma-Louise Charleton English
Miss Nikita Crawford English
Mr Jonathan Jenner English
Ms Emma-Jo Farrell English
Mr Ethan Roberts English and Entitlement Coordinator
Miss Sophie Lovett Literacy Coordinator                           


Mrs Mandy Blackmore Head of Humanities
Mrs Hannah Hardcastle ICO Religious Education
Mr Daniel Schmidt Subject Lead History
Mr Michael  Currie History
Mrs Sophie Bostock Modern Foreign Languages
Mr Lorenzo Launo Modern Foreign Languages
Orela Hatchard Modern Foreign Languages
Louise Harding Humanities
Mrs Val Livermore Subject Lead Food
Miss Alexa Matthews Food and Art

Science, Technology, Engineering & Maths: 

Mrs Imogen Gater Subject Lead Science                    
Mr Adam Ball Science                                     
Miss Naomi Leech Science
Mr Ben Jones Science
Mr Thomas Holman Science
Mr Hisham Kalim Science
Miss Heather Carney Science and KS5 & EPQ Coordinator
Mr Nick Hanlon-Brooks Science
Ms Rebecca Norris Science
Ms Emma Osbourne Science
Mr Nick Rowe Teacher of Computer Science
Ms Fiona Richards Head of Mathematics
Ms Claire Roff 2nd in Mathematics
Mrs Nichola Deacon Mathematics Intervention Coordinator      
Mr Aaron Markar Lead Practitioner Maths and Science
Mrs Andrea Ballard Mathematics KS5 Coordinator
Lisa Staniforth Mathematics
Mr Mark Goddard Mathematics
Ms Kathryn Sobczyk Mathematics
Mr Phillip Warman Mathematics
Mr Mike Dunn Subject Lead Engineering - Specialism
Mrs Anna Harpham Gist TED
Mr Dan Orme TED
Mr Ben Healey TED
Ms Sharon McCarthy TED

Arts, Wellbeing and Enterprise: 

Mr Jonathan Perkins Drama (Performance & Participation Coordinator)
Miss Francesca Martin Subject Lead Dance
Miss Affolake Lewis Dance
Mr Mike Child Subject Lead PE
Mr James Short Outdoor Education and DoE Instructor
Mrs Jayne How PE
Mrs Katy Plunkett PE
Ms Martha Tavinor PE (maternity Cover)
Mr Thomas Holman PE
Miss Alexa Mathews Art
Ms Lynne Lamonde Head of Art
Mrs Caroline Surman Art
Ms Jenny Young Media
Mr David Mastrocola ICO Music
Mr Russell Scagell Music and Performing Arts
Peri Staff:  
Mr John Wines Acoustic/Electric Guitar, Bass, Ukelele
Nicky Ashford Singing
Katerina Fox Flute, Piano, Clarinet, Violin
Bob Mace Drums, Percussion

SENDCo, Teaching Assistants and  Learning Support Assistants: 

Mrs Nicola Al-Jassar SEND (on maternity leave)
Miss Hayley Gaj SEND (maternity cover)
Mrs Frances Brown Teaching Assistant and Emotional Learning Support Assistant
Mrs Claire Peel Teaching Assistant and Literacy Support
Mrs Helen Rave Teaching Assistant
Ms Claire Pike Learning Support Assistant
Ms Sara Keeling Learning Support Assistant
Lauryn Blackmore Learning Support Assistant
Ms Tracy White Learning Support Assistant
Miss Katy Shephard Learning Support Assistant
Mrs Linden Trenery Learning Support Assistant
Miss Hayley Warren Learning Support Assistant
Miss Hayley Mitchell Learning Support Assistant
Mrs Julie Harrison Learning Support Assistant
Mrs Nicola Hennessy Learning Support Assistant
Anna England Learning Support Assistant
Linda Jackson Learning Support Assistant
Ms Rebecca Norris Learning Support Assistant
Ms Karen Fletcher Learning Support Assistant

Heads of House: 

Ms Lisse Burbidge Head of Anvil/Community Cohesion and Transition
Miss Affolake Lewis Head of Calshot/Teacher
Mrs Alison Prince Head of Eddystone/Teacher
Mr Tom Peacock Head of Hurst/Enrichment & Rewards
Mr Peter Thompson Head of Kingswear/Teacher
Mr Dominic Burke Head of Portland
Miss Vicky Gladden Head of Sovereign
Mr Dean Taafe Head of Trinity/Teacher


Mr Dan Orme Anvil 1
Lynn La mond Anvil 2
Miss Alexi Mathews Anvil 3
Nick Hanlon-Brooks Anvil 4
Mrs Andrea Ballard Calshot 1
Miss Laura Beardsell Calshot 2
Mr Lorenzo Launo Calshot 3
Mark Goddard Calshot 4
Ms Kate Brand Eddystone 1
Martha Tayinor Eddystone 2
Mr Tom Holman Eddystone 3
Jonathan Jenner Eddystone 4
Mrs How & Mrs Plunkett Hurst 1
Ms Sharon McCarthy Hurst 2
Mrs Claire Roff Hurst 3
Russell Scagell Hurst 4
Miss Victoria Gladden Kingswear 1
Mr Ben Healey Kingswear 2
Mr Daniel Schmidt Kingswear 3
Lisa Staniforth Kingswear 4
Mrs Caroline Surman Portland 1
Mrs Sophie Bostock Portland 2
Mr James Short Portland 3
Mandy Blackmore Portland 4
Mr Mike Child Sovereign 1
Jenny Young Sovereign 2
Mr Aaron Marker Sovereign 3
Ben Jones Sovereign 4
Phil Warman Trinity 1
Miss Heather Carney Trinity 2
Mr David Mastrocola Trinity 3
Nikita Crawford Trinity 4
Pam Maitland 6EH
Mrs Pollard & Miss Martin 6AC
Louise Harding 6KP
Mrs Anna Harpham Gist 6ST                                                                                



Mrs Finola Gilson HR Manager and PA to the Principal
Mrs Della Dawson Marketing and Communications Coordinator
Mrs Vicky Spence Reprographics and Lettings Administrator
Mrs Carol Duffy Student Support Officer for Attendance and Admissions
Mrs Jackie Beer Education Social Worker
Mrs Heather McKell Senior Cover Supervisor and Lead First Aider
Mrs Tracy Coslett Deputy Cover Supervisor
Ms Emma Jo Farrell Cover Supervisor and p/t PE Teacher
Ms Liisa Marriott Office Manager
Jennifer Thornley Behaviour Support
Miss Lucy Dawson Receptionist
Miss Hannah Smith Receptionist
Mrs Corinne Wigg Exams Manager
  Exams & Academic Administrator
Mrs Michelle Lever Library Manager
Mrs Janice Morris SEN/Head of House Assistant
Mrs Catherine Turner Finance Manager
Mrs Tanya Woodland Finance Assistant
Mrs Karen Chippett Counsellor

Sixth Form: 

Mrs Kelly Franklin Sixth Form Manager and STARS (Gifted & Talented)
Mrs Vicky Woodings Head of Careers, Employability and Enterprise
Mrs Jo Warren Carees Coordinator & 6th Form Admin


Mr Andrew Acock Facilities Manager
Mr Paul Green Facilities Assistant
Mr Jordan Loder Facilities Assistant
Mrs Nicky Ellement Housekeeper
  Community Lettings Supervisor


Mr Steve Saywell Network Manager
Mr Alexei Wyatt Asistant ICT Technician

Academic Technicians: 

Mrs  Jo Bosworth Food Technician
Mr Mark Binstead TED Technician
Miss Josephine Duncan Visual & Performing Arts Technician
Miss Catherine Jarrett Senior Science Technician
Mrs Mandy Stone Science Technician