Skip to content ↓

Who's Who

"Technology is just a tool. In terms of getting the kids working together and motivating them, the teacher is the most important."

Bill Gates

At The Bourne Academy, we welcome students of all abilities and from all backgrounds and staff take their time to get to know and understand each students, supporting them to do their very best.

The Academy creates an ethos that promotes academic, vocational and personal development. Students receive regular constructive feedback which identifies clear targets for improvement. Tracking and monitoring of progress has been designed to help students to improve and excel.

Staff are a dedicated and passionate team of people, whose primary objective is to ensure that every child in their care receives the best and exciting learning possible. We strive to ensure that our students achieve their absolute best and are happy throughout their academic years.

In 2013, Ofsted stated that "the way in which staff care for the students is outstanding".

To contact a member of teaching staff, please leave a message with Reception on 01202 528554 or email or email them direct using the following format:  first


Senior Leadership Team

Mr Mark Avoth Principal
Mr Ashley St John Vice Principal: Character & Currency
Mrs Caroline Gobell Business Director
Mrs Catherine Turner Business Director
Mrs Tracie Deane Associate Vice Principal
Mr Jonathan Perkins Assistant Principal: Character & Culture
Mrs Kelly Franklin Assistant Principal: Inclusion (SEND, Behaviour & Welfare)



Mr Mike Dunn Director of Engineering Specialism
Mr Jon Fry Director of Science
Mrs Alice Goldsmith Director of Humanities & Bourne Scholars Lead
Mr David Mastrocola Director of Arts & Wellbeing
Mrs Syreeta Stobart Director of Mathematics & Business


Pastoral Team: Heads of House/Year

Mrs Kirsty Twigg Personal Development, Behaviour & Welfare Lead & Head of Portland
Mrs Tracy White Head of Anvil 
Ms Jaqueline Brown Head of Hurst
Miss Emma-Jo Farrell Head of Kingswear 
Miss Martha Tavinor Head of Calshot
Mrs Emily Hitchins  Head of Trinity
Mr Tom Peacock Head of Year 11
Mr Dean Taafe Head of Sixth Form
Mrs Jackie Beer Education Social Worker
Mrs Zoe Murphy Pastoral Support Worker
Mrs Abigail Smith Pastoral Support Worker
Miss Kirsty Easden Attendance Administrator
Mrs Kelly Wheal Behaviour Support Supervisor & Administrator


Mr John Cornish Director of Inclusion
Ms Tess McHugh SENDCo KS4
Mrs Frances Brown ELSA
Mrs Lucy Dawson Administrator for SENDco & In-Year Admissions
Andrew Southwood Learning Manager



Mrs Finola Gilson HR Manager and PA to the Principal
Mrs Claire Boscarelli Office Manager